PWI magazine

Everything Else, Except for Advertising. Nobody likes a shill.

PWI magazine

Postby CheMateo » Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:56 pm

I have not come across an issue of Pro Wrestling Illustrated in I think five years. Has anyone come across them lately? Just for fun I wanted to pick up a copy of their PWI 500. Do they still publish that issue? The last PWI 500 I got was in 98. And with the collapse of the national wrestling scene I'm kind of curious to see how the magazine has changed.
CheMateo

Postby the-sXe-enigma » Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:00 pm

the-sXe-enigma

Postby shyboy13 » Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:08 am

I have a subscription because it is almost impossible to find PWI in stores now a days. I have probably 80-90% of the issues since it began in 1979. The problem with the subscriptions is that they forget to send me approximately 1 out of 4 magazines but since I have nowhere else to get them they have me by the balls. I have not seen improvement in this respect since Oscar De La Hoya bought the magazine either.

To answer the questions though, the PWI 500 is still around. This year had many more international talent and more "name" indy talent than previous years. I believe this is because Mike Quackenbush has his hands in it. In fact, I would say that since Quackenbush as been part of PWI it has been much better. For the longest time they talked about wrestlers and feds that nobody has ever even heard of if they didnt live in the North East. I think Dave Meltzer's brother is also an writer for the mag.

They have historically seemed to ignore the West Coast but now you hear about PWG every once in a while.

The magazine is still kayfabe but now it is probably 1/2 kayfabe instead of 100% as opposed to years ago.

The magazine is probably 60% WWE, 25% TNA, 5% ROH, and 10% other.